Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy was established in the college in 1963 and Honours in Philosophy was introduced in the year 2001. The department tries to inculcate the moral and social values in the students of the college and to enhance their reasoning ability and rational faculty.


  • It has good collection of books (about 1600) in the Central Library and in the Departmental Library.
  • The department regularly organizes seminars, workshops.
  • The department runs a Psychological Counseling Cell for advising students of the college on personality disorders, phobia and complexes, reducing the level of delinquency and for clearing away the psychological hurdles for smooth academic progress.
Courses Offered
UG B.A. in Philosophy (Hons. & Gen.)

The Faculty

Teachers Designation Specialization
Prof. Amal Chattopadhyay,  M.A., M.Phil Associate  Professor & HOD Buddhism
Prof. Arabinda Paul, M.A Assistant Professor Nyaya-Vaisesik
Sri Arun Das, M.A Part-Time Teacher Advanced Logic
Sri Biman Dutta, M.A Part-Time Teacher Advaita Vedanta & cognitive Science

Departmental results of the last three years for honours students:

2014 2015 2016
Appeared Passed Percentage Appeared Passed Percentage Appeared Passed Percentage
15 15 100 05 05 100 12 12 100