Department of Sanskrit

Department of Sanskrit

The department of Sanskrit in this college was established in 1965 and Honours Course was introduced in 1972. In the course of time the department has expanded itself as per the necessity of the students, society and locality. Many distinguished teachers served the department.


  • It has good collection of books (about 2000) in the Central Library and in the Departmental Library.
  • The department regularly organizes seminars, workshops, surveys and educational tours.

Courses offered

UG B.A. in Sanskrit (Hons. & Gen.)
PG M.A. in Sanskrit through distance mode of education

The Faculty

Teachers Designation Specialization
Prof. Maitreyee Jana, M.A., M. Phil Assistant Professor & HOD Veda
Prof. Trina Das, M.A. Assistant Professor Philosophy
Prof. Sanatan Das, M.A. Assistant Professor Literature & Literacy Criticism
Smt. Saswati Deb, M.A Part-Time Teacher Kavya
Sri Sukumar Khorda , M.A Part-Time Teacher Literature & Literary Criticism

Departmental results of the last three years for honours students:

2014 2015 2016
Appeared Passed Percentage Appeared Passed Percentage Appeared Passed Percentage
42 40 95.23 44 42 95.45 31 30 96.77